Learning and Failing with APIs

Olivia Trujillo
1 min readOct 10, 2021

--

For this week’s assignment we are getting familiar with APIs and how they work. I was interested in Etsy’s API but more specifically gathering data from my own Etsy Shop.

Within the Etsy Site they have a Developer Tool where you can create your own app and use the open source data from Etsy’s API. You just need to download Node.js to access it.

I went ahead and downloaded Node and set up my files in VS code but for whatever reason I could not get it to work. I tried for over an hour to get it right and watched a handful of youtube tutorials to try understand. It just really wasn't clicking for me, so thats when I decided to pivot from trying to develop and API to creating a “mashup”.

I went with my favorite UI tool, Adobe XD to mock up and prototype a dashboard for Etsy Sellers. The issue I have as a seller on Etsy is easily accessing your shop data and stats. I wanted to develop one central dashboard where you can easily access all of this information. Below is a link to the live prototype.

I am interested in APIs and how they work but I think I need a better understanding of how they work from the back-end. As well as a proper tutorial on working with Node.js

--

--

Olivia Trujillo

Olivia is a current graduate student at the University of Colorado, Boulder receiving an M.A. in Product Design.